Reflection

Reflection

I have learned that every individual have different approaches to their learning styles. I have learned from this course there are many ways of thinking and learning despite a person’s age. I found it striking that Problem-solving methods are one of most frequently used technique in the learning process. According to Mayer and Wittrock (as cited in Mayer, 2009), explained problem solving as a “cognitive processing directed at achieving a goal when no solution method is obvious to the problem solver” (para.5). Using problem solving techniques opens up different views on an issue at hand. I learned that my approach to solving a problem will be different from others; however the conclusion could be the same.

This course has deepened my understanding of my personal learning process. I now know why I enjoy self-directed teaching styles. I believe that self-directed information allows me to think and apply my knowledge with limited guidance from others.  I have witnessed that myself and most of my peers apply self-directed nature to virtual classrooms because of our limited time to attend a traditional campus class (Foley, 2004).

We have learned Behaviorist Theory, Cognitive Theory, Constructivist Theory, Social Learning Theory, Connectivism, and Adult Learning. Learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation are intertwined within an individual’s brain and they rely on one another. They help the learner grasp the overall concept being presented. Motivation is the driving factor for learning theories, learning styles, and educational technology. Without motivation understanding an individual’s learning style or educational technology needs would be impossible. “Understanding what motivates online learners is important because motivated students are more likely to engage in activities that help them learn and achieve” (Keller, 2012, para.1). Furthermore, it will be extremely difficult to identify the most suitable learning theory to aid the individual learning process.

Learning in this course help me further my career in the field of instructional design. I learned that as instructional design tool, it is important to personalize teaching points on an individual basis. I’ve learned the use of personal web can be utilized as an instructional tool in an online environment to allow students and teachers to communicate. I have learned that there is an always new research or technology innovation that creates new paths for learning in the field of instructional design. The role of instructional design is continuously evolving as new ways to communicate between teachers and students occurs.

 

 

References:

Foley, G. (Ed.). (2004). Dimensions of adult learning: Adult education and training in a global era. McGraw-Hill Education.

Kelly, R. (2012). Five factors that affect online student motivation. Retrieved from http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/online-education/five-factors-that-affect-online-student-motivation/

Mayer, R. (2009). Problem solving. Retrieved from http://www.education.com/reference/article/problem-solving1/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

