Blog Assignment: Fitting the Pieces Together

Blog Assignment: Fitting the Pieces Together

Over the previous generations, it was not important for individuals to understand that effective communication is the key to success. However, in today’s generation it is one of the biggest requirements in the field of instructional design and technology. Over this course, we have learned various learning theories. We have learned Behaviorist Theory, Cognitive Theory, Constructivist Theory, Social Learning Theory, Connectivism, and            Adult Learning.

We have explored the different theory and applied them to everyday life of an instructional design and technology student. Now that I have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, my previous view has changed. Prior to this course, I considered my learning style to be self-lead with the ability to rationalize situations. Of the learning theories and perspectives previously presented, I once believed cognitive theory describe my learning techniques.

According to Ormrod, Schunk, and Gredler (2009) stated, “…cognitive theories describe rational processes whereby learners acquire new information and problem-solving skills” (p.14).  I considered myself an analytical thinker that analyzed all possible outcomes whether it is rational and not rational.

Since then, I now feel that the learning theory that fits my self-lead learning styles is the connectivism theory. The connectivism theory allows me to gather and lead my own learning from numerous data sources. Connectivism allows me to connect information from previous experiences or learning sources and apply it to my current knowledge.  Through connectivism I am able to pull relevant information learned and stored in my brain to expand on a new subject or topic. I still believe both cognitive theory and connectivism allows me to step out of my comfort zone and draw from different aspects.

I have learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain my own personal learning preferences as well as others. I have learned the reason I channel previous experience and apply to current situation. I have learned by individual’s behavior in a certain manner. I have learned that social surrounding contributes to an individual’s experience and their ability to learn.

Technology control many aspects in a learner’s performance. Information has served its purpose once we have accurately performed our duties in making changes in the work field (Few, 2009). The role of technology is a major component to my learning. With technology, I am able search online databases to gather research. Technology allows me to communication with teachers, peers, and others to brainstorm or get feedback from. It also allows me to track my challenges of different manners.

 

References:

Few, S. (2009). Now you see it: Simple visualization techniques for quantitative analysis. Oakland, CA: Analytics Press.

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

